Eve Chase

  • Une famille. Un secret. Un été tragique. Des vies bouleversées à jamais.Par l'auteur de Un manoir en Cornouailles, le best-seller qui a déjà conquis plus de 70 000 lecteurs.
    Gloucestershire, août 1971. Un bébé est retrouvé dans les bois du manoir de Foxcote. La famille Harrington, endeuillée par une terrible tragédie, recueille avec joie la petite fille et décide de l'élever en secret. Mais ce bonheur familial est très vite ébranlé par la découverte d'un cadavre sur la propriété. Des années plus tard, Sylvie, désireuse d'éclaircir des zones d'ombre de sa vie, est à son tour entraînée dans les bois majestueux et sauvages de Foxcote, là où rien n'est tout à fait ce qu'on croit. Sylvie découvrira-t-elle la vérité et osera-t-elle la révéler ? Onirique et mystérieux, Les Filles du manoir Foxcote nous plonge au coeur de sombres secrets de famille qui bouleverseront à jamais les vies de trois femmes.

  • Une famille. Un secret. Un été tragique. Quatre vies bouleversées à jamais. " Une lecture obligatoire pour les fans de Kate Morton et Daphné du Maurier. " BookPage
    Cornouailles, 1968. Pencraw, un grandiose manoir en ruine dans lequel les Alton élisent domicile l'été. Le temps semble s'y être arrêté et défile sans encombre. Jusqu'au drame qui vient bouleverser leurs vies et arrêter le temps à jamais. Cinquante ans plus tard, avec son fiancé Jon, Lorna roule à la recherche du manoir des Lapins noirs, cette maison où elle a séjourné enfant. Elle rêve d'y célébrer son mariage. Tout dans cette vieille demeure l'appelle et l'attire. Mais faut-il vraiment déterrer les sombres mystères de ce manoir en Cornouailles ? Eve Chase nous entraîne dans une passionnante spirale unissant deux femmes séparées par les années, mais que la force de l'amour et le poids des secrets réunissent en une seule voix, mélancolique et entêtante.

  • 'Evocative and filled with intrigue' Clare MackintoshIn the heatwave of 1959, four sisters arrive at Applecote Manor to relive their memories of hazy Cotswolds summers.They find their uncle and aunt still reeling from the disappearance of their only daughter, five years before.An undercurrent of dread runs through the house. Why did Audrey vanish? Who is keeping her fate secret?As the sisters are lured into the mystery of their missing cousin, the stifling summer takes a shocking, deadly turn.One which will leave blood on their hands, and put another girl in danger decades later . . .
    'One of the most enthralling novelists of the moment' Lisa Jewell
    'Exquisite and evocative - the pace and suspense are handled expertly' Sarah Vaughan'An enthralling story of secrets, sisters and an unsolved mystery' Kate Morton

  • One golden family. One fateful summer. Four lives changed forever.
    Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's country estate where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, one stormy evening in 1968, it does.
    The idyllic world of the four Alton children is shattered. Fiercely bonded by the tragic events, they grow up fast. But when a glamorous stranger arrives, these loyalties are tested. Forbidden passions simmer. And another catastrophe looms...
    Decades later, Lorna and her fiancé wind their way through the countryside searching for a wedding venue. Lorna is drawn to a beautiful crumbling old house she hazily remembers from her childhood, feels a bond she does not understand. When she finds a disturbing message carved into an old oak tree by one of the Alton children, she begins to realise that Black Rabbit Hall's secret history is as dark and tangled as its woods, and that, much like her own past, it must be brought into the light.
    A thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by Black Rabbit Hall. A story of forgotten childhood and broken dreams, secrets and heartache, and the strength of a family's love.
    Reviews 'Black Rabbit Hall is a seductive wonder of a novel; with echoes of Daphne Du Maurier and Dodie Smith, it pulls you irresistibly into its world where nothing is quite as it first appears' Elizabeth Fremantle 'Black Rabbit Hall completely swept me away. Glorious, beautifully written. I absolutely loved it' Lisa Jewell 'Expertly crafted, dark, beautiful and utterly enthralling' Rowan Coleman 'Family secrets, forbidden lust, and a family of four extraordinary children who'll stick with you long after they've scattered off the page. Eve Chase kept me up with her gorgeous descriptions of a crumbling Cornwall estate and the unruly brood who meets tragedy within its walls' Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet 'A stunning new writer has arrived - gripping and heart rending, this novel is full of original characters which don't let you forget them' Katie Fforde 'A deliciously intriguing novel whose rich sense of time and place bear more than a few echoes of du Maurier's best' Alex Marwood, Edgar Award-winning author of The Wicked Girls 'A sheer delight. It has everything: a glorious setting, characters to fall in love with, secrets galore and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very last page. Wonderful' Veronica Henry

  • For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here’s a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall. Ghosts are everywhere, not just the ghost of Momma in the woods, but ghosts of us too, what we used to be like in those long summers . . . Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does. More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor’s labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate. Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall. From the Hardcover edition.

empty