Harper Collins Digital

  • Anglais The Hobbit

    J R R Tolkien


    First ever illustrated eBook of the classic bestseller featuring more than 60 colour paintings and pencil drawings by the award-winning artist, Alan Lee, Conceptual Designer on Peter Jackson's THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY.
    Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole in Bag End. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of thirteen dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an unexpected journey 'there and back again'. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon...
    The prelude to The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit has sold many millions of copies since its publication in 1937, establishing itself as one of the most beloved and influential books of the twentieth century.
    This new eBook edition is illustrated throughout in gorgeous watercolour and delicate pencil by Alan Lee, the Oscar-winning Conceptual Designer on Peter Jackson's films, THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY and THE HOBBIT: THERE AND BACK AGAIN.


  • J. A. Baker's extraordinary classic of British nature writing


  • THE UK'S BESTSELLING EBOOK OF 2011.
    Benjamin Daniels is angry. He is frustrated, confused, baffled and, quite frequently, very funny. He is also a GP. These are his confessions.


  • Winner of the Guardian First Book Award 2011
    Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Non-fiction 2011
    Shortlisted for the Wellcome Trust Book Prize
    Shortlisted for the Duff Cooper Prize
    Now, as cancer becomes an ever more universal experience, the need to understand it, and its treatment, has never been more compelling. In this groundbreaking and award-winning account Siddhartha Mukherjee tells the fascinating story of our relationship with this disease. From brutal early surgical treatments, to Sidney Farber's hugely risky discovery of chemotherapy, to the author's treatment of his own patients, he reveals how far we have come in solving one of science's great mysteries and offers a fascinating glimpse of our future progress.


  • Anxious about the apostrophe? Confused by the comma? Stumped by the semicolon? Join Lynne Truss on a hilarious tour through the rules of punctuation that is sure to sort the dashes from the hyphens.
    We all had the basic rules of punctuation drilled into us at school, but punctuation pedants have good reason to suspect they never sank in. 'Its Summer!' screams a sign that sets our teeth on edge. 'Pansy's ready', we learn to our considerable interest ('Is she?') as we browse among the bedding plants.
    It is not only the rules of punctuation that have come under attack but also a sense of why they matter. In this runaway bestseller, Lynne Truss takes the fight to emoticons and greengrocers' apostrophes with a war cry of 'Sticklers unite!'


  • Agatha Christie's world-famous mystery thriller, reissued with a striking cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers.


  • A mysterious stranger appears at a New Year's Eve party, becoming the enigmatic sleuthing sidekick to the snobbish Mr Satterthwaite...
    So far, it had been a typical New Year's Eve house party. But Mr Satterthwaite - a keen observer of human nature - sensed that the real drama of the evening was yet to unfold.
    So it proved when a mysterious stranger arrived after midnight. Who was this Mr Quin? And why did his presence have such a pronounced effect on Eleanor Portal, the woman with the dyed-black hair?


  • A seance in a snowbound Dartmoor house predicts a grisly murder...


  • A queen brought low by love compromised and power abused - the tragedy of Mary Tudor.


  • A brilliantly inventive comic love-story, set in and around New York at the beginning of the 21st century.
    Maynard is a defeated musician, a reformed misanthrope who makes a hobby of surreptitiously filming the fashion faux pas of New York City subway commuters. On an uptown Number Six Train, in the summer of 2000, he meets Jennica, a nostalgic Californian and Princeton graduate who calculates that she's been lonesome 68.53% of her adult life. It is hardly love at first sight. But when they meet again at Maynard's film screening, their romance does indeed blossom. And as with most things in life, everyone has an opinion.
    In the case of Maynard and Jennica, everyone includes: many living and some dead relatives, a blond-bombshell Russian-Israeli scam artist, a hip-hop impresario, a shabby lawyer, a long-lost friend and a writer for The New Yorker. Exuberantly illuminating much that is true and often horrifying about our times, page-turning and wryly funny, Maynard and Jennica remains at heart a love story. Delson has given us a pair of lovers who are human, flawed, complex, at once eccentric and deeply familiar - and in whose story we continue to feel invested long after we've turned the last page.


  • The third book in the hugely acclaimed Martin Beck series: the novels that shaped the future of Scandinavian crime fiction and influenced writers from Stieg Larrson to Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Lars Kepplar.
    Someone is assaulting and killing young girls in the once-peaceful parks of Stockholm. Detective Inspector Marin Beck has two witnesses: a cold-blooded mugger who won't say much, and a three-year-old boy who can't say much. The killer will strike again, and the police are getting nowhere. Can Beck crack the case before time runs out?


  • A historical investigation into the mysterious bug that wiped out the vineyards of France and Europe in the 1860s - and how one young botanist eventually 'saved wine for the world'.


  • A landmark in travel writing, this is the incredible true story of Heinrich Harrer's escape across the Himalayas to Tibet, set against the backdrop of the Second World War.
    Heinrich Harrer, already one of the greatest mountaineers of his time, was climbing in the Himalayas when war broke out in Europe. He was imprisoned by the British in India but succeeded in escaping and fled to Tibet. Settling in Lhasa, the Forbidden City, where he became a friend and tutor to the Dalai Lama, Heinrich Harrer spent seven years gaining a more profound understanding of Tibet and the Tibetans than any Westerner before him.
    More recently made into a film starring Brad Pitt, Seven Years in Tibet is a stunning story of incredible courage and self-reliance by one of the twentieth century's best travel writers.


  • The fantastic fourth classic instalment in the Martin Beck detective series from the 1960s - the novels that have inspired all Scandinavian crime fiction.


  • A battle-cry for civilised behaviour from the author of the multi-million selling Eats, Shoots and Leaves.


  • From the author of the Man Booker prize-winners 'Wolf Hall' and 'Bring Up the Bodies' comes a story of suburban mayhem and merciless, hilarious revenge.


  • A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher


  • Marisa Merico, the daughter of one of Italy's most notorious Mafia Godfathers, was dazzled by her father, Emilio DiGiovine. To her he was all powerful, sophisticated and loving; to the rest of the world he was staggeringly ruthless. Marisa knew her father would do anything for her, but she hadn't expected just how much he would ask in return.


  • Richard Sharpe avoids the tyrannical Sergeant Obadiah Hakeswill and endeavours to rescue a British officer from under the nose of the Tippoo of Mysore.
    But in fleeing Hakeswill, Sharpe enters the exotic and dangerous world of the Tippoo. An adventure that will require all of his wits just to stay alive, let alone save the British army from catastrophe.
    Soldier, hero, rogue - Sharpe is the man you always want on your side. Born in poverty, he joined the army to escape jail and climbed the ranks by sheer brutal courage. He knows no other family than the regiment of the 95th Rifles whose green jacket he proudly wears.


  • A tale of Catherine Cookson-esque tragedy and Northern grit, Pauline Prescott's life story will shock and amaze.


  • The dramatic true-life story of George Hogg, a young Oxford graduate who is caught up in the Japanese invasion of China in 1937 and the Chinese Civil war, and who leads a group of Chinese children hundreds of miles across 15,000-foot mountains to safety - only to die tragically in early 1945.



  • From the internationally bestselling author of A Woman of Substance comes the continuing story of indomitable heroine, Emma Harte


  • A refreshed and redesigned edition of this popular handy-sized guide to dreams and their meanings.
    Throughout history and across many different cultures, dreams and dreaming have had much importance attached to them. From the Ancient Greeks to Sigmund Freud and today's mind/body/spirit gurus, people have sought to use the interpretation of dreams as a means of unlocking the mysteries of the subconscious.
    This updated edition of Collins Gem Understanding Dreams allows you to unlock the secrets of dreams and dreaming. The easy-to-use A-Z listing of over 1000 of the most common dream symbols enables you to discover their meanings within seconds of waking up.
    You will also be able to discover whether your dream foretells good or bad news, is a warning or a manifestation of a particular longing or a desire.
    Collins Gem Understanding Dreams is ideal for keeping in your bedside cabinet or under your pillow. So, if you've been dreaming of flirting or flogging, dolls or doors, stars or starvation, this is the only guide to interpreting dream symbols you will need.


  • Fast, practical fixes to help you relax, unwind and bring you instant calm.

empty