Harper Collins Digital


  • In this practical guide TV farmer Jimmy Doherty imparts his experience and ideas to show you how to achieve the self-sufficient lifestyle and add to your life whether growing for your own pleasure - or profit!

  • Anglais The Wreckers

    ,

    From the bestselling author of 'The Lighthouse Stevensons', a gripping history of the drama and danger of wrecking since the 18th-century - and the often grisly ingenuity of British wreckers, scavengers of the sea.

  • Whether you're struggling with insomnia, the kids have eczema, or your partner is feeling under the weather, this book could have the answer.

  • Bestselling author and home cook Sally Bee is back with a collection of deliciously simple recipes that show how easy it is to follow a healthy diet for life.Many of us know the principles of healthy eating but actually incorporating them into daily life is much harder. Whether it's eating more fruit and vegetables, reducing fat without losing flavour or feeding a family after work without the aid of a take-away menu, Sally Bee explains how to make good food second nature.Sally isn't a dietician, but a busy mum who knows how tough it can be to change eating habits. Her down-to-earth advice and realistic approach is borne from her own experience of life-threatening heart disease, which she recovered from thanks to her own delicious and easy-to-follow eating plan. Sally understands how real people eat and how recipes must be quick and made with affordable, readily available food. Her plan won't leave you feeling deprived or hungry, but allows you to enjoy many of your favourite foods in a balanced way.Recipes for Life offers refreshingly simple advice and tasty dishes that will change your eating habits and help you enjoy a healthy mind and body - not just for a few weeks, but for life.Recipes include:Chicken KormaHealthy Chinese Chicken WrapsSmoked haddock and leek pieHealthy Fish Chips and Mushy PeasRoast Monkfish with Olives and CapersAll-in-one Lentil and Sausage CasseroleSpanish Pork and Bean StewCaramelised Veggies with Sausages and Baked Sweet PotatoWinter SaladAsparagus and Artichoke Salad with Wild Rice and Basil DressingPumpkin and mushroom lasagneBroccoli and Leek BakeApricot and Pistachio Tart

  • Be careful who you invite into the bosom of your home - she may never leave...The new novel from Fay Weldon, the writer who knows women better than they know themselves.Hattie has a difficult if loving partner, Martyn, an absentee mother, Lallie, and a cynical if attentive grandmother Frances. She tries to do the right and moral thing in a tricky world, and always has. But she now has a baby, Kitty, which makes true morality rather harder to achieve. Somehow, money has to be earned. Into this household comes Agnieszka, from Poland, a domestic paragon. But is she friend or foe? And even if she is foe, and seems likely to bring the domestic world crashing down around their ears, can they afford to let her go? Well, no.Martyn works for a political magazine, Hattie for a literary agency. At work, too, integrity is suffering as the need for compromise becomes ever more pressing. And always in the background is Frances, tracing the family and social history. And not just family and society but the dwelling houses too; and all those girls and women (the au pairs, the child-minders, the cleaners) who've made Hattie what she is. Not to forget that hefty dollop of male genes which has also played its part - for Hattie's is a lively and none too respectable background - and now, finally, Agnieszka, come to claim her rightful heritage - which is, let's face it, everything. Will Hattie go to the wall? And poor little Kitty...Or will rescue come?

  • Bomb Hunters tells the story of the British army's elite bomb disposal experts in Helmand Province, Afghanistan.This enhanced ebook brings the experience to life with video from the frontline; interviews with ex-head of the Army General Sir Mike Jackson and the head of the EOD unit Colonel Gareth Collett, plus colour maps and photographs.Bomb Hunters are up against the Improvised Explosive Device - the IED - the deadly homemade bombs planted by the Taliban. Hard to detect and easy to trigger, an estimated 10 bombs for every one of the 10,000 British troops have been planted in the region. IEDs are now the main killer of British troops in Afghanistan and the ultimate psychological weapon.Bomb Hunters work in 50-degree heat as they take the 'long walk' into the kill zone, defusing as many as 15 bombs a day. In the past year the casualty rate has soared as the troops have become locked into a deadly game of cat and mouse - to locate and deactivate the deadly bombs before they maim and kill soldiers, police and civilians. Skill, cold courage and inevitably pure luck play a huge part in the survival of these men and as the British public have already seen - a single lapse of concentration can result in instant death.Ex-paratrooper, now defence journalist, Sean Rayment, takes the reader on a journey into the heat and dust of Helmand Province as he meets these courageous soldiers while they put their lives at risk to prevent other British troops falling vicim to the IED.This is as vivid and dramatic as war reporting gets, mixing 'close to the bone' narrative and dead-pan black humour from the Bomb Hunters themselves, some of whom were subsequently killed in action. No punches will be pulled on what these men feel about the war, their place in it, the politicians and generals who send them there, and how they deal with the relentless pressure of the job itself in the heart of the world's most hostile combat environment.The enhanced version contains unique footage of British soldiers in action in Afghanistan, related TV news reports, a set of interactive maps explaining key trouble spots, plus audio and video interviews with senior military personnel such as Gareth Collett, Head of Army Bomb Disposal, and General Sir Mike Jackson, former Chief of the General Staff.

  • Now available together for the first time, the complete GROW YOUR OWN DRUGS package! Combining James Wong's bestselling titles:
    - GROW YOUR OWN DRUGS: Easy recipes for natural remedies and beauty fixes - GROW YOUR OWN DRUGS: A Year With James Wong

  • This book has been serialized into 4 parts - this is PART 1 OF 4. TRY THIS BESTSELLING THRILLER FOR A SPECIAL PRICE. Conspiracy thrillers don't come bigger or better than THE KEY - from the author of the bestselling thriller debut of 2011, SANCTUS.
    Please note that the map in this ebook is best displayed on tablet devices

  • A free collection of short stories from some of the top names in women's fiction today. Featuring irresistible tales of love, friendship, betrayal and passion, from Claudia Carroll, Miranda Dickinson, Julia Williams and many others, The PERFECT ESCAPE is the must-have collection of the year.

  • Find out how it all begins...The FREE PREQUEL to Rae Rivers' magical new series, The Keepers.Sienna Beckham is a powerful witch, and along with her four fiercely protective Keepers, it is her destiny to maintain the balance of nature in this world.

  • Fans of the Divergent series by No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by the knife-throwing scene from Divergent, now told from Four's perspective.

  • A superbly festive short story. Part of the thrilling Cornelius Quaint Chronicles.

  • A short story from the world of Department 19.
    In 1891, Abraham Van Helsing and a group of friends faced Dracula, the world's first vampire - and won. The survivors of that battle founded Department 19, and have been secretly saving the world ever since. A highly classified archive exists recording every act of bravery in that time.
    That archive is now open. These are the Department 19 files.
    Secret Department 19 headquarters, present day.
    Larissa Kinley is a fully armed Operator for Department 19, a secret branch of the government dedicated to saving us all from the supernatural. She's also a vampire. And a teenage girl. When the 17-year-old survivor of a vampire attack is brought to the Department's base, Larissa finally finds the courage to tell someone her deepest secrets. But when the past catches up with you, sometimes it has fangs...

  • Digital download exclusive story: discover brand new starlet, Kate Forster, ahead of her debut novel The Perfect Location.

  • "La Floride est si belle qu'on pourrait la croire civilisée." Mais les personnages de ce livre ne commettraient pas une telle erreur de jugement. Ce qui les intéresse, c'est le pactole de cinq millions de dollars qu'on avait laissé enfermé au fond du coffre d'une Chrysler blanche dans Florida Roadkill, le précédent roman de Tim Dorsey (Rivages/Noir n° 476). Un magot insaisissable que Serge A. Storms, le tueur que les psychiatres adorent, veut rafler coûte que coûte. Même si, à mesure que les cadavres s'accumulent, ce maudit pognon commence à sentir mauvais. Une seule certitude : ceux qui se le disputent sont tous complètement cinglés, ce qui passe relativement inaperçu dans une région des USA où l'on trafique de la coke, où les vedettes de la chaîne météo sont des chiens, où les petits vieux se font aplatir aux arrêts de bus et où les flics s'entre-tuent (ça, ce n'est pas propre à la Floride). Vous en voulez encore pour faire bonne mesure ? Il y a aussi un cyclone dans l'histoire, en pleine action au moment où tous les protagonistes finissent par atterrir au Hammerhead Ranch Motel, un lieu exquis, décoré façon western avec un goût parfait, et dont le clou est une piscine gardée par des têtes de requins-marteaux empaillées. On n'y attend plus que vous.
    Hammerhead Ranch Motel est tout simplement un feu d'artifice de la première à la dernière page, orchestré par un jeune et brillant auteur, considéré aujourd'hui comme le plus talentueux chroniqueur de la Floride et la voix comique la plus originale du roman noir contemporain.

  • Anglais Orange Crush

    Dorsey Tim

    La réélection de Marlon Conrad au poste de gouverneur aurait dû être une formalité. Malheureusement, ce Républicain bon teint a "oublié" son service national. Il s'enrôle donc dans la Réserve, sous l'oeil des caméras. Mais son unité est envoyée dans les Balkans. À son retour, il part en campagne contre la pauvreté, défend les opprimés et les minorités : un retournement de veste total qui risque bien de lui coûter sa carrière. Voire la vie.

  • Tampa, Floride,, a tout du paradis sur terre. Lorsqu'il emménage avec sa famille dans Triggerfish Lane, Jim Davenport ne cache donc pas son enthousiasme. mais c'était sans compter avec Lance Boyle, agent immobilier douteux déjà propriétaire de presque toute la rue et résolu à racheter rapidement la villa des Davenport à vil prix. sa stratégie ? Installer partout les pires voisins possibles. Et là, il a du choix... reprennent notamment du service Coleman et Serge a. Storms, déjantés déjà bien connus des lecteurs de Tim Dorsey. Avec un sens du burlesque qui n'appartient qu'a lui, l'auteur s'amuse à renverser les valeurs de l'Amérique middle class, faisant d'un quartier " tranquille ou il fait bon vivre en famille " un véritable décor de carnaval.

  • HarperImpulse are delighted to introduce brilliant debut author Erin Lawless... perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Katy Regan and David Nicholls!

  • An all-new short story from the blood-pounding world of Department 19.

  • A free sampler containing the outrageous first chapters from Frankie's three books My Shit Life So Far, Work! Consume! Die! and Scotland's Jesus. Perfect for when you want to feel deeply offended.

empty